Masterworks I

Masterworks I


Wednesday, November 9, 2022    
12:00 am


Lillian S. Wells Hall at The Parker
707 NE 8th Street, Fort Lauderdale, Florida, 33304

Event Type

Map Unavailable

Masterworks 1 – Tchaiskovsky  / Elgar / Barber

Barber: First Essay for Orchestra, Op. 12
Tchaikovsky: Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 35
featuring Askar Salimdjanov, violin

Elgar: Enigma Variations on an Original Theme, Op. 36

 South Florida Symphony Orchestra (SFSO), led by Sebrina María Alfonso, is proud to announce its 25th anniversary 2022/23 season featuring five Masterworks concerts and Handel’s glorious holiday masterpiece Messiah.

A perennial favorite at its birthplace in Key West, South Florida Symphony Orchestra, last year, was named a Partner in the Arts for The Parker, managed by Broward Center for the Performing Arts. SFSO performed to full houses during its inaugural season at The Parker, which had completed a stunning $30 million renovation in 2021. Subsequently, its growing success in Miami necessitated a larger venue to accommodate its patrons.

“This is an exciting time for South Florida Symphony Orchestra as we celebrate 25 years of entertaining and enriching our community through music, education and diverse community engagement initiatives,” said Jacqueline Lorber, president and CEO of South Florida Symphony Orchestra. “In recent years, the momentum in Miami has continued to build, establishing the foundation to enter our next stage of growth at the New World Center on solid footing, with an enthusiastic patron base and full support. We are grateful for the generosity and foresight of Gerald Laskey, who has made this opportunity for expansion possible through the Gerald L. Laskey Charitable Fund of the Community Foundation of Broward.”

SFSO’s celebratory 25th anniversary 2022/23 season of artistic excellence launches on November 9 at The Parker and will feature an outstanding season of classical masterworks, including one of the most beloved violin concertos in history, Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto in D Major, Shostakovich’s final “War Symphony,” No. 9, Brahms’s doubly demanding Concerto for Violin and Cello and an all-Dvořák program with audience favorite – and performer during the Symphony’s inaugural concert — Zuill Bailey. Additionally, honoring its commitment to presenting new works, SFSO will present its third world premiere by composer-in-residence John Gottsch: the Florida-inspired Ocklawaha. The South Florida Symphony Chorus will expand its repertoire, once again, performing holiday favorite Handel’s Messiah (a subscription add-on), as well as one of the greatest large chorale works of its day, Bruckner’s majestic Te Deum.

Tickets and additional information available HERE.